Team Captains Returning to Bears in 2022

Chicago Bears

On Monday, Head Coach Matt Eberflus announced that the Chicago Bears will once again have permanent team captains. There will be four season-long captains, plus one honorary captain each week.

Last year, in Matt Nagy’s final season as Head Coach, fans were left frustrated every week not only by the uninspired offense but also by the lack of regular team captains, instead seeing a meaningless rotation of players being named ”Captain of the Week.”

On Wednesday the Bears will make a ’grand announcement’ to introduce those captains, and there’s no shortage of suitable choices. I think we’ll see QB Justin Fields and C Lucas Patrick (who returned to practice Monday) serve as captains on offense and DE Robert Quinn and LB Roquan Smith be the defensive team captains.

No matter who gets the ’C’ patch on their jersey, it will be a welcome sight for Bears fans every week.

Related News

Eddie Jackson

The Good, Bad, and “Other” as Bears move on from loss to Giants

Kyler Gordon

Ranking the Bears’ rookies after the first 4 games of 2022 season

Justin Fields

Chicago Bears Grades: Special teams lead the way in 1st quarter season grades

Justin Fields ranks Bears in bottom 3 teams after loss to Giants