Chicago Bears

Bears announce 2022 permanent captains and Week 1 honorary captain

The Chicago Bears revealed the four players who will serve as team captains in 2022. Quarterback Justin Fields headlines the group and is joined by Cody Whitehair, Robert Quinn and Roquan Smith.

Running back David Montgomery was chosen as the honorary captain for Week 1. Coach Matt Eberflus said this week that the Bears will have an honorary captain for each week of the 2022 season.

Fields, Whitehair, Smith, and Quinn are permanent captains, which is a big change from the Matt Nagy-led Bears. Nagy’s teams showcased new captains every week, which led to some laughable moments like Germain Ifedi serving as a captain in Week 16 last season.

Related News

Justin Fields

Mel Kiper Jr. says Justin Fields would be QB1 in 2023 NFL Draft

Warren Sapp Justin Fields

Warren Sapp drops bomb about Bears’ plans for QB Justin Fields

Peter Skoronski

Northwestern’s Peter Skoronski says playing for Bears would be an ‘absolute honor’

Chicago Bears

Which of these Bears earned a contract extension this offseason?